MV-55: bias issue with hum appearing

Got a problem? See if other members can help you out. Registered users can download schematics, manuals and pictures.
RJKflyer
Super Advanced
Super Advanced

MV-55: bias issue with hum appearing

Post by RJKflyer »

I have been using a set of Tung-Sol EL34Bs in my MV-55 since 2018. I today noticed a slight hum and decided to rebias.

On one channel the bias LEDs could not be illuminated for either valve even at FSD, and on the other it was near FSD.

I changed the valves for a set of Watford Valves EL34Bs and the bias was now settable on both channels, albeit still towards FSD.

However, I noted that when approaching the bias point a hum appeared in each channel.The appearance of the hum is distinct as the bias is turned clockwise. At 'correct' bias (LED just on then back off say 1/4 turn) there is still a slight hum. Present even with pre-amp (a PV10AL) disconnected.

I've never had this issue previously.

At this stage I've not elected to replace the 6SN7s or the ECC83s (which were also replaced back in 2018).

Any thoughts please?

EDIT: I fortunately have a set of new big bottle EH 6CA7s and have tried those - problem resolved - significantly reduced settings to bias.

I would still appreciate an understanding of what has happened here - the Tung-Sols were initially similarly biased easily and through age appear to have drifted out of bias range (I can appreciate this may happen), but the brand new EL34Bs evidently were too 'hot' for the amp?
admin
Site Admin
Site Admin

Re: MV-55: bias issue with hum appearing

Post by admin »

I think both set of tubes were going bad.
-admin
Home Theater in Member Gallery
Main stereo: ART Amplifier and ET7s2. 2nd stereo: PV-14L and MV-55. Previously Owned: PF2 preamp, Evolution 2000 Amp, PV-12AL preamp, D/A-2b Vacuum-Tube Digital Processor.
RJKflyer
Super Advanced
Super Advanced

Post by RJKflyer »

admin wrote: Mon Jan 08, 2024 5:10 pm I think both set of tubes were going bad.